Dropbox vs SugarSync


I recently saw a tweet mentioning the use of Dropbox. I have used Dropbox for several years. While I continue to use Dropbox, I used to use Humyo to specifically share and host audio and video files from recordings of our Classroom 2.0 LIVE webinar series until Trend bought them out.  I still have my account and keep files previously linked to Classroom 2.0 LIVE blog posts.

Dropbox gives you access to 2GB of storage for free and there are several services, including a desktop client, that you can download and use with Desktop. “Sendtodropbox” is a great way to email files to your dropbox account. You can view the apps that are compatible with Dropbox at this website – https://www.dropbox.com/apps.

Dropbox allows you to customize who and how you share files/folders with others using their email address. When sharing files, you don’t have to make everything accessible to those that you share dropbox files with as you can share individual files with different individuals.

Back in 2009, I started using SugarSync on my iTouch. Sugar Sync is a similar service that is free but gives you 5GB of storage instead of just 2GB. Like Dropbox, both apps have mobile apps so that you can use most types of mobile device to remotely access your files. You can share and email files to your SugarSync account much easier than you can with Dropbox.

Both services have great interfaces but I prefer the look of SugarSync a bit better. Since I have different Dropbox accounts I found it difficult to figure out which files were associated with which Dropbox accounts. SugarSync makes viewing the location of desired files much easier for me to find than Dropbox.

Both services allow you to receive extra storage space for referrals that sign up for the free or paid accounts. Dropbox gives additional MB for each referral with a .edu email account. SugarSync gives you 500 MB for each referral and Dropbox gives you 250 MB per new account.

**Blog Author’s note: URLs for Dropbox and SugarSync are links that will give me additional MB of space so please use the referral links.

Dropbox – http://db.tt/574H7Dh
SugarSync – https://www.sugarsync.com/referral?rf=fbx70zhi76g5f
4 responses to “Dropbox vs SugarSync

  1. Markus Deutsch

    SugarSync is really great. I have it 2 years…
    Who wants to get 5 gigabytes +500 MB more, sign up.

  2. We love giving away free storage! For every friend you refer to SugarSync, we’ll give you both 500 MB of bonus space. If your friend joins a paid plan, you each get whopping 10 GB storage!

    Get 5GB + 500 MB FREE!

  3. I have been using both services especially when we have projects in school that needs collaboration and file sharing. It is very easy to share files/folders between groups of people. Both services also keep an online backup and keep my files sync on my macbook and my PC at home. The iPhone app of both services works great and is very handy.

    Try ’em both from these links to get bonus storage. Start with Dropbox (2.25GB) vs. Sugarsync (5.5GB). If you sign up for 30GB or more at sugarsync, we both get 10GB free.

Leave a Comment

