I'm a New Graduate!


As of Wednesday, September 15th, I am a full fledged graduate and now hold a Master of Education in Learning and Technology from the Teacher’s College at Western Governors University! It is so surreal – I can’t believe I finished the program in 18 months. I found a semi-inexpensive master’s program that was online and with accreditation that was accepted in the Texas State Board of Certification. My goal is to use this degree to find a teaching position online either for a virtual middle/high school or online adjunct instructor/professor position. If you are in need of someone for a position like this please contact me!

I could not have completed this degree program without my professional learning network (PLN). Twitter/Plurk/Facebook friends shared words of encouragement, resources and supported my research efforts by completing surveys and evaluating my Moodle course created for teachers to acquire technology integration skills and assist students to become better problem solvers (you can use the guest login to view the Moodle course I created as part of my capstone research project http://caisefiles.edumoot.com/course/view.php?id=11).

I want to thank several people that were instrumental in assisting me throughout my degree program. My WGU mentor, Janet Loy, was  instrumental in guiding me through the program and answering my endless questions. Thank you to my invaluable PLN for sharing their time, resources and knowledge with me. A special thank you to Peggy George who spent countless hours offering words of wisdom, encouragement and coached me through the various parts of the capstone research project that I had to complete.

My Classroom 2.0 LIVE co-hosts Peggy George and Lorna Costantini provided endless support and advice throughout the past 18 months. I was surprised this past Saturday during our regular Saturday show with a special web tour page (http://live.classroom20.com/congratulations-kim.html) sharing with everyone my recent accomplishment. I was so honored!

My last, but not least, thank you goes out to my husband, Marty, for encouraging me during frustrating moments, discussing ideas for my papers and project, and for supporting my decision to seek a master’s degree program paid with school loans.

I am eternally grateful to everyone who contributed to this endeavor. It was a long, arduous journey and marks the start of a new direction in my career. Cheers everyone!

9 responses to “I'm a New Graduate!

  1. Congratulations Kim! It is so rewarding to take on something this ambitious and complete it. Good luck in your search, any school would be fortunate to have you on its faculty – you’d be a sorely needed force for change.

    • Thank you so much for taking time to leave a comment! Your are so kind and I am honored that you shared your thoughts with me. I am so grateful to have such talented, creative people in my PLN! I used several of the tools featured on the Dulcinea website and blog including yolink. You and your staff are doing outstanding work helping teachers and librarians teach their staff about research strategies. Have a wonderful day and I may tap you for a reference for my job search! 🙂

      Kim

  2. Kim — You should be very proud …. we all know that online is so much more challenging than traditional programs. So good luck, congratulations, and you will be an amazing member of any team!

    • Thanks Marcia and Dimitris! I appreciate you taking time to leave me such encouraging words. We are all busy and I am honored that you took a few minutes to leave me a congratulatory message. Dimitris, I am aiming for the sky. I have applied at several institutions hoping that I get to fulfill my dream of teaching online so that I can put my degree to good use. Marcia, thank you for saying that would be an amazing member of any team – I truly hope that I get the opportunity to explore and continue my passion of online learning.

      Kim

  3. Congrats, Kim! Always aim for the sky!

  4. Well done. Does this mean there’ll be more post here? 🙂

  5. You’re an encouragement to me as I work on my masters in ed tech from WGU. Keep up the blogging. I love to come and see what you have posted.

Leave a Comment

