My Twitter Followers are Gone?


As I was ‘plurking‘ this afternoon, I soon discovered that several people were missing many of their Twitter followers. For many of us, tweeting and plurking is serious business and crucial to professional development. Through the tweets and plurks, I learn a great deal about new technology tools, if someone is streaming a workshop or session live, advice on tech strategies and tools, as well as where and what people are eating for dinner. Granted, the posts about eating dinner or going to bed are not posts that help me grow professionally but the two micro blog tools are my lifeline to what is currently happening in the ed tech world. It is live, up close, and personal with notices of all kinds of learning opportunities available for free presented from all parts of the world.
This evening I noticed on my Twitter profile page that the problem of followers ‘disappearing’ from our lists was ‘almost finished’. I took a screenshot as I found the notice interesting but I don’t have complete confidence in the efficiency of restoring the missing followers.

I haven’t found an application that has the same features of Skitch where you can highlight and draw on screenshots so I only have a plain screenshot here with a poorly handdrawn circle around the statement of ‘almost all’. The statement doesn’t cause me to have much confidence in the restoration process.

Just for kicks since I wasn’t receiving all of my Tweets, I checked out Twitter’s blog and they had a post about the problem of the missing followers. Their explanation of the process is shown below:

Where Are My Followers?

Update: This has been fixed but the actual numbers and profile pictures might not look right until tomorrow afternoon due to caching.

Recently, some people began noticing a decline in their following and follower numbers. We investigated and determined this was caused by an error during a database upgrade. We’ll be restoring followers throughout the day to those who were affected and keeping the status blog and Get Satisfaction forum updated with specifics.

So by tomorrow afternoon Twitter profiles ‘might‘ not look right due to a caching difficulty. Okay, but will all of my followers and their tweets show up en masse? I don’t think anyone really knows.
To show how important tweets are to us, a fellow edublogger Tom Barrett posted a picture to his Flickr account showing the breakdown of his Professional Learning Network (PLN). The picture was included in his post about missing his Twitter Connections and posted to Flickr. I found it extremely interesting as if I were graph my connections to learning from other ed tech colleagues the dispersion of resources would be very similar.

Notice the amount of the graph attributed to Twitter. I definitely concur that Twitter is a crucial piece of learning in my PLN. If you graphed your PLN resources how much would be allocated for learning from Twitter or Plurk? Stop and think about it – it just may surprise you the depth and volume of learning that occurs from micro blogging. So please continue to Tweet and Plurk and continue to make those networking connections.

Leave a Comment

